RIP to my partner in art – Janice Wilkins MFA

I write this with a heavy heart. There is just no describing the bond you have with someone when you create stuff with them. Since Janice passed away last week, I have thought a lot about our special friendship and the weird, smart, and silly things we made together over the past 14 years. Here are just some of the highlights:

As well as all that, we spent time with millionaires and feminists; we experienced Victor’s circus in Spain; I cooked her copious smashed up fried eggs; she helped me stage a crime scene in a model village; and we laughed. Mostly we laughed a lot.

Janice made her own brilliant art of course. She was modest about it, and often had more ideas than energy to pursue them. She painted, but was really most comfortable making three dimension art – she sewed, she built, she made films. She was inspired by feminism, but more so the every-day woman: Janice loved women at bus stops, with shopping trolleys, and in supermarkets. Her muses were “Doris” and Cat Woman (the original one), and she loved old black and white films.

This is my favourite piece by Janice Wilkins. I am pleased to have taken this photograph for our final “Masters” show at Anglia Ruskin University. I am pleased too that my family has a lot of her creations dotted around the place. She made things well, researched A LOT (mostly by reading Vogue magazines), and got told off by our lecturers for having too much “humour” instead of “wit” in her work. I can hear her now saying: “bollocks to that”.

One of Janice’s pieces was called “Bag for Life” and we often referred to each other as “old bags”. I’m heartbroken that I won’t have Janice around anymore to laugh and make things with, but in so many ways, she will be with me for ever – in what we made together. RIP my friend.

One thought on “RIP to my partner in art – Janice Wilkins MFA

Comments are closed.