Bristol exhibition… at last

It’s been over 35 years since I left my home town of Bristol. And although it’s gone from being an edgy, run down city, that birthed trip hop and Banksy, to the second most expensive place to live in the UK, I still feel proud to be a Bristolian.

Back in the 1980s my hangouts were Montpelier, Bishopston and St Pauls. We scuttled around with sports bags full of car paint to make our marks on derelict buildings and hoardings along Station Road; we listened to hip hop on Boom Boxes; and had fat laces in our shoes. Now, my old stomping ground of Stokes Croft is home to boujee restaurants and quirky boutiques that have politely requested graffiti be painted on their shop fronts. I like to think that’s a homage to the past.

After leaving all those years ago, I have lived in many other amazing places – London, Cambridge and far away places in the Middle East, South Asia and Europe (shameless plug – please buy my book “Looking for Tigers” for some curious stories from these places). I have exhibited my art in all these places too, but I have always bought a little bit of Bristol with me.

I’ve had a gap in making art in recent times, whilst I focus on other public spirited and “less self-indulgent things” (blame the Covid pandemic). But, I have recently starting painting again – it’s so good for my own mental well being – and have some surprising plans for more meaningful creativity soon. So, having started to fill my home with painted things once more, when I saw an opportunity to share my work in my home town, I gave it some serious thought.

I won’t be coming to Stokes Croft this time – But I will be on a double decker bus in Fishponds. This feels a little more authentic to me. I have a couple of paintings and a handful of cats in a group show at the Circular Art Space – a community art gallery at 780 Fishponds Road, BS163TT, Bristol (in the car park behind The Crafty Egg). The show is on between 5th-28th April with a “meet the artists” event on 6th April between 12-2pm.

Having been around the world – I am very excited to be showing my paintings in my first exhibition in my home town. I’m a bit too long-in-the-tooth to be edgy these days, and have long since left my sports bag of car spray behind – but there are echoes of both to be found in my art. I hope to see you on the bus!

Caroline (so often called Caz these days).