Jack Lewis – Formula 1 Driver Discovered in Stroud

MOTOR ARTS

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI met Jack Lewis when I first moved to Stroud in 2015.  He was a wonderful talker and told great stories of his childhood in Stroud, I warmed to him straight away.  Jack was born in Stroud in 1936 and went to Wycliffe School in the town, and although he stayed in the Vegetarian House there, he said he used to sneak home to Westward Road for his mum’s sausage and mash. He told stories of his military service and trial-bike riding. I learnt that Jack’s father, also named Jack Lewis, used to race motorbikes and ran H&L Motors of Stroud.  This peaked my interest:  I love motor sport and I had just finished making a series of paintings of cars and classic motorbikes.

After our first meeting I decided to search for information about Jack online.  There felt Jack Lewissomething unsaid about him.  I could hardly believe it when I discovered that this friendly humble…

View original post 703 more words

