Assembly: Classic Motorcycle Racing at Pembrey

MOTOR ARTS

A few weeks ago I attended my second meeting of the Classic Racing Motorcycle Club at Pembrey Circuit in Wales.  I took a thousand photographs and sketched some preliminary ideas – but this is my first finished painting.  I thought I would write a little about why this moment inspired me, and show you how the painting progressed.

Classic 350s approaching the assembly area at Pembrey Circuit for final checks (oil on wood) Classic 350s approaching the assembly area at Pembrey Circuit for final checks (oil on wood)

The excitement as riders face their final scrutineering is infectious.  At this moment visitors, fellow bikers and bike owners gather to watch as the classic bikes enter the assembly area ready to race. I say my art is all about the relationship between human and machine and in this painting it is very clear to see.  The pent up energy of the riders is clear, but the dedication of the marshalls and close to 100 officials who…

View original post 76 more words

