How painting helped me fall in love with the Ford GT40

MOTOR ARTS

As a portrait artist I often joked that I fell a little bit in love with every subject I have painted.  It’s not quite a joke – there is a genuine sense of empathy that develops when you look at a face intensely for many hours. Scientists have done studies to show that if you look into the eyes of a complete stranger for three minutes – you begin to have some feelings for that person.  The average portrait takes me over a month to paint – and by then I am head-over-heals.

I didn’t expect anything similar to happen with cars.  I first met the GT40 at the Passion for Power show in Manchester two years ago.  I was blown away by its ability to sit comfortably next to modern cars, despite its age.  I spent time photographing three of the cars, and felt like I knew it’s dips…

View original post 403 more words

