WWI Forgotten Heroes: A Portrait of Jogendra Nath ‘John’ Sen

Co-Create Arts

Jogendra Nath Sen portrait and photo

This portrait has been made for the World War I Forgotten Heroes Project by British artist Caroline Jaine. The medium is oil paint and gold leaf on wooden board. The artist says:

“When Manish told me Jogendra’s story I knew immediately I would have to dedicate a portrait to him. I chose the photo of him as a student in Britain – a proud moment I think – and decided to make his “colour” a beautiful thing, rather than the hindrance it became. I also embellished him with golden Indian designs and painted his famous glasses in gold leaf (which doesn’t show so well on the photo of the painting). His fellow students by contrast are black and white and I painted their eyes shut – symbolising the inequality between British and Indian servicemen in WWI.  Seeing the two pictures of him as a student and then later as a soldier really…

View original post 229 more words

