World War I Forgotten Heroes: A Portrait of Private Flanton (NZPB)

Co-Create Arts

private flanton by caroline jaine and original

This portrait has been made for the World War I Forgotten Heroes Project by British artist Caroline Jaine. The medium is oil paint on a wooden panel. The artist says:

 “When people heard I was painting a portrait of a Mâori, most never realised that they fought in the First World War. The original photo of Private Flanton was so striking – there was so much soul in his eyes. I was sad that there appears to be no more information about his service, so I invented a life for him in my head and began to research Mâori symbols. The spiral or “Koru” (the Maori word for “loop”) refers to new shoots of the silver fern from which this shape is derived. The circular movement towards an inner coil refers to ‘going back to the beginning’.  The unfurling frond itself is symbolic for new life, new beginnings, hope…

View original post 375 more words

