Humanitarian Art: Learning through radio in Nepal

Here is my latest picture as Humanitarian Centre artist-in-residence – in response to the work of The Mountain Trust.  I spent a while studying the work that they do in Nepal and was most struck by the Radio Guru project – it seems utter sense to me to use radio to broadcast lessons to hard-to-reach communities, who cannot access school.  Far from being primitive, this feels like the future to me.  It won’t be long before more developed countries go to school online and use broadcast media more. Let Nepal lead the way.

This sketch was made using pencil and pen on the back of an old pizza box.  Not only do I enjoy re-using paper and cardboard, but I have packed my paints as I am about to move my studio!  In the new year I hope to make another, painted image for the inspiring Mountain Trust.

A Mountain Trust Radio Guru listener by Caroline Jaine
A Mountain Trust Radio Guru listener by Caroline Jaine

 

 

